Kindersley Youth Committee Wins Municipal Award

Kindersley Youth Committee Wins Municipal Award

A Town of Kindersley initiative to involve youth in the community is the recipient of a 2017 Saskatchewan Municipal Award.

The Kindersley Youth Committee claims the third place honour this year, acknowledged for revitalizing youth engagement in Kindersley, increasing the contributions of young people, and supporting intergenerational connection. The Youth Committee, formally established in 2015, evolved from the previous Kindersley Youth Council, which was also recognized with a Saskatchewan Municipal Award (SMA) in 2011.

The SMAs recognize best practices and initiatives throughout urban and rural municipalities in Saskatchewan. The City of Swift Current was recognized with the first place award from its Downtown Market Square project, while the Town of Carrot River and RM of Moose Range share the second place honour for their shared community branding campaign, “Saskatchewan’s Outback.”

Michelle McMillan, Community Culture and Relations Manger and coordinator of the Youth Committee, said the 2017 municipal award is well-deserved recognition for the contributions the students have made to Kindersley.

“One of the most important lessons we impart with the students is the incredible positive impact they can have on their community when they collaborate with each other and allow their ideas to be shared. We are proud of each one of them,” said McMillan.

The Kindersley Youth Committee is made up of students from grades 9 through 12 who pick topics of interest to be their platforms for which to develop projects or initiatives throughout the year. For more information visit

Date Updated: October 31, 2017 - 4:21 PM